Girls Gone Wise Says: Who Needs Rights, Anyway?

Standard

Alice Paul, American suffragist and activist.

About Photo | Girls Gone Wise

Mary Kassian, complementarian founder…would she give back that doctorate in systematic theology?

Before going on, read this blog post written by Sarah Bubar on Mary Kassian’s site, Girls Gone Wise.

I have a simple question for these women: are they willing to give up their rights?  Some complementarians talk about the concept of rights as if it were profanity.  But in reality, would they be willing to give up the rights and privileges they enjoy,  the very rights that, ironically, make it possible for them to write books and blog posts in their own name?  Rights that women of the past fought hard to gain, such as:

The right to go to a university or seminary, as the moderator of the above post no doubt did.

The right to get away from an abusive husband through divorce.

The right to vote.

The right to own property.

The right to earn wages.

The right to have custody of your children.

The right to not get raped by your husband.

The right to not be beaten by your husband.

The right to drive a car(a right some women in our modern world still do not enjoy; can you imagine getting flogged because you drove your kids to an activity??).

The right to go to school.

The right to marry who you want when you’re ready, not to fulfill someone else’s agenda.

Are these not rights men(especially white men) have (for the most part) taken for granted, but which women had to fight to gain?  Am I the only one who sees the double standard here?

Sarah Bubar(and Mary Kassian, it seems) misunderstand an important point:  most women do not want special privileges; they want to be treated as individuals, as human beings.  (And no, I do not want to be defined by my gender, and nowhere is the Bible does it say I should be.)  All most women want is to do things men have taken for granted for years.  It’s never been(for most women) about having power over men, or even being like men; it’s about being human.  And as humans, yes, we are God’s children(owned by God as Bubar says)…but He has granted us free will and  responsibility for our own lives.  We have the choice to obey or disobey Him.  Men have historically had the autonomy to choose what to do with their lives, a choice women have been denied, until now.  Are Sarah Bubar or Mary Kassian really willing to give that up?  More importantly, is that what God wants?  Is God pleased with His men when they sit around discussing(or making lists about) what women can and cannot do, without a single woman present for the conversation?

About creativehomeschooler

I'm a homeschooling mom of two creative children. I created this blog to highlight the things I'm thankful for during my days. It can be a challenge to homeschool, but I try to look at the grace my children and I experience. And these kids come up with some neat projects, so I hope to encourage and inspire others who may be reading.

12 responses »

  1. This is really good!! Thanks! I love your summing up in the last paragraph. So often the “other side” misunderstands and thinks we want special privilege! No, no, no! We just want the basic rights of humanity.

    On another issue – Mary Kassian’s educational credentials seem exaggerated to me or presented in a way that makes it seem like she has more theological education than she actually does…from my humble opinion. From nosing around on web awhile back, it seems her undergrad degree is not even in anything related to Bible or theology, I didn’t find anything about a masters degree, but then she course work towards a doctorate in theology from an online university in Africa. Huh? How do you jump from undergrad, no masters, to working on a doctorate? Willing to be corrected if I’m wrong – I don’t know the woman personally and based my conclusions from what I could deduce from internet info…

    Mary Kassian also seems so hypocritical to me – because she has had all these opportunities that many other women do not!! (as you point out also.) And I think the ONLY reason she has had these opportunities is because the comps have made her “their pet” – they like having an “educated” woman that they can use as their “poster child” for a woman being both educated and complementarian. Grrrr….

  2. Along the same lines as Laura . . . How did Mary Kassian get to be a “distinguished professor” in a seminary?

    I’m pretty sure she doesn’t have a doctorate. In fact I’m pretty sure Mary doesn’t have any recognized tertiary theological qualification at the present time.

    The only qualification that I can find any information about is a degree in Occupational Therapy. But I could be mistaken about this, and am happy to be corrected.

    Mary wouldn’t be qualified in Australia to be any sort of professor, let alone a distinguished professor.

  3. So I guess the statement that she “studied systematic theology at the doctoral level” doesn’t mean she has a doctorate! I think that’s pretty misleading, but I find much of what she has to write to be misleading, unfortunately.

    • It may be difficult for her to get a doctorate at a seminary that adheres to complementarian principles. Why would a complementarian woman need a doctorate in theology when she can ask her husband if she has a question?

      • I think it is OK to have studied something on a collegiate level and be considered knowledgable. But it isn’t right to claim a degree (which I haven’t seen that she did) when one doesn’t have one. Many notable people of history have studied and learned without college degrees. It is unfortunate that someone has made claim for her that are not quite true.

  4. Did Kassian or the other women mentioned actually say the ‘who needs rights’ quote? If so, I would like the link. Thank you.

  5. Marg,
    I saw it on facebook and shared it! I like how you went through all her points and demonstrated how she doesn’t express herself clearly on the issue of rights, and how it really isn’t true and doesn’t make sense to assert that we(as women and people in general) don’t have rights. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  6. Thanks to a friend sharing a link, I have now found a new blog to read. Your “creativehomeschooler” title really caught my eye as my brother and sister-in-law had run a homeschool ministry for a number of years. He is privately quite christian egalitarian in views but has told me that the vast majority of the homeschool community is complementarian or even patriarchal in views and that these views have been becoming stronger in the homeschool community. Your blog is a light where there doesn’t seem to be much light! I have enjoyed reading several of your articles over the past few minutes. If it’s OK with you, I will add you to my blog roll. (Marg will vouch for me :>) )

Leave a Reply

