The Gospel and Homemaking

Standard

Here’s an interesting quote from the blog Girl Talk on the career of homemaking~

“Homemaking is a vocation often filled with mundane tasks and repetitive chores, most of which are performed in obscurity. It demands a colossal amount of serving and sacrifice. Sometimes between scrubbing toilets and laundering dirty clothes, we can lose sight of the significance of our calling. We look around and perceive everyone engaged in meaningful work. Everyone, that is, except us. And our vision for working at home begins to flag.

What we need is a biblical perspective. For in God’s economy, homemaking is a high and noble calling. By “working at home” we can present the gospel as attractive to unbelievers (Titus 2:4). Our homes can actually be a showcase for the gospel.”

I homeschool my kids.  I prefer to call myself a homeschooling mom rather than a homemaker.  If/when my kids go to school outside our home, I will get a job.  I’m here to homeschool, not to keep house; my husband and I share housekeeping duties.  I don’t view homemaking as my career, but if the Girl Talk ladies do, that’s their prerogative, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

What I take issue with is this statement~

“By ‘working at home’ we can present the gospel as attractive to unbelievers (Titus 2:4).”

When I read this I think, Is that what Paul meant in his letter?  Did he really mean that homemaking is what makes the gospel attractive to unbelievers??  Probably not.  There’s evidence that because of the culture during this time, it would malign the gospel if newly saved women suddenly stopped working at home and went out in public and did whatever was deemed culturally inappropriate for their gender.  If women of the day behaved this way, the new and suspect religion of Christianity would get a bad reputation.

In our culture, it isn’t shocking for women to work outside their homes, to be homemakers, or to work from home.  I’m incredibly grateful to have this freedom to choose the kind of life I want.  But, if  I choose homemaking, I must remember this: homemaking doesn’t make the gospel attractive to unbelievers; love does.  Kindness does.  Gentleness does.  So maybe, instead of attempting to conjure up some June Cleaver duplicate, we should be thinking about what is appropriate behavior for respectable women in our culture right now.  What would make the gospel attractive in light of our modern culture?  That’s something to think about…

The ladies at Girl Talk have made their choice to be homemakers and I respect their right to do so.  What I challenge is the idea that homemaking is the way for Christian women to display the gospel to unbelievers.  There must be more freedom for us women than this statement suggests.

About creativehomeschooler

I'm a homeschooling mom of two creative children. I created this blog to highlight the things I'm thankful for during my days. It can be a challenge to homeschool, but I try to look at the grace my children and I experience. And these kids come up with some neat projects, so I hope to encourage and inspire others who may be reading.

6 responses »

  1. Good post, very important that you pointed out, I think helping the poor, loving others despite differences, forgiving enemies or people that hurt you before (so difficult) ,all of those make the Gospel attractive to unbelievers, not homemaking!
    In fact many women have left the church because of extreme patriarchal views, and many refuse to become Christian for the same reason, seems the girls at that blog live in their own bubble….I read soemwhere the whole submission/headship and other comp views actaully scare people away, specially women, and I don´t blame them, I stay away from people like that too.
    But very important to remember to have Jesus as your role model, if one is male or female, showing the love he showed can convert others!

  2. Interesting, but I think needs to be discussed more. I don’t view homemaking as a vocation. Taking care of one’s home is everyone’s job whether married or not. It’s about taking care of the central place, the hubwheel of where we spend our lives. We go out from there and come back to our home. We should all manage it well, much like we should manage our relationship with the Lord who is the center of our inner and spiritual life.

    Homeschooling on the other hand, is much more like a vocation.

  3. Tiro3,
    I also don’t view homemaking as a vocation. And I totally agree that at least in my home, we are ALL responsible for taking care of the cleaning, laundry and getting everyone fed. However, if some women do view homemaking as a vocation, I want to respect their right to view it that way, as long as they don’t impose it on others, judge others for not choosing it, or (and this is the worst thing)claiming that it is THE biblical “career” for all women. Because frankly, that’s a lie. Yet that’s exactly what the women in the blog I referenced are claiming(not that you need convincing, I just think these blog posts are interesting):

    http://www.girltalkhome.com/blog/Future_Homemakers
    http://www.girltalkhome.com/blog/Homemaking_Internship

    I also view homeschooling as more like a vocation, and a temporary one at that. I really enjoy homeschooling my kids; it takes time, energy, and brains to do it well. If I wasn’t homeschooling, I wouldn’t be hanging around here all day cleaning and cooking, that’s for sure!

    Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  4. I will tell you that from my experience, I made a number of mistakes in this area. I took my homemaking as my vocation and therefore did EVERYTHING. I should have seen the big picture and realized the damage I was doing to my children by not incorporating them more into the care of the home. It made them ingrateful and lazy. Second, I didn’t homeschool, I blindly trusted the public school system and my children’s ability to chose friends of good character. I assumed that since they had been raised in the traditional organized church system for their entire lives, they had learned something. Third, I did go to work once my kids were into school, my oldest being 15 and youngest was 8. Once kids become teenagers, it is even more important to have that stable guardian at home to keep an eye on things. Even the best kids can get mixed up with the wrong people, and it is our responsibility to be diligent in protecting them (regardless of their age) as long as they are still in our home.

    • I don’t think there’s anything wrong with working outside the home or that it necessarily or always interferes with diligence in advising the kids about their friendships.

Leave a Reply

